Final Doctoral Oral Examination
Kim Jones (EdD Candidate)

Date: March 30, 2020 at 1:00 p.m. (MT)

Supervisor: Dr. Susan Moisey

Committee: Dr. Nathaniel Ostashewski; Dr. Bob Heller; Dr. Grazia Scoppio

Dissertation Title: Satisfaction of Canadian Armed Forces Regular Force Members with their Distance Learning Experiences

Final oral examinations are held using Adobe Connect. FGS encourages staff, students, and faculty to attend these open examinations. If you are interested in attending, please inform FGS (

See more

Governor General’s Gold Medal Award Winner

Governor General's Gold Medal Award Winner

Congratulations to Norine Wark

Doctor of Education in Distance Education (EdD) Student, on receiving the 2019 Governor General’s Gold Medal Award. This award is to recognize the outstanding performance of a graduate student in an academic institution. The award takes into account overall academic excellence through coursework, research, awards and distinctions. Norine accepted the award and gave the student address on June 7, 2019 at Athabasca University’s annual convocation.

Check out Norine’s story on the Hub.

Canadian Graduate Scholarship – Master’s (CGS-M) Winners

The Faculty of Graduate Studies is pleased to announce Athabasca University’s winners of the Canadian Graduate Scholarship (Masters), who have been awarded $17,500.00 over 12 months. Congratulations and good luck in your continued studies.

Cari Borenko Hoffmann

Cari Borenko Hoffmann

Is a Master of Health Studies (MHS) student in the Faculty of Health Disciplines and has received an award from the Canadian Institute of Health Research (CIHR) for her research titled “Advance Care Planning and The Law”

Check out Cari's story on the Hub.

Tamra Ross

Tamra Ross

Is a Master of Science in Information Systems (MScIS) student in the Faculty of Science and Technology and has received an award from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) for her research titled “Design, Development and Evaluation of a Lifestyle-integrated Learning Support Tool”

Check out Tamara's story on the Hub.

AU's 2019 Three Minute Thesis (3MT ®) competition

Dustin Purnell Image

Dustin Purnell (MC graduate), went on to represent AU at the 3MT Western Regional Competition which was held at the University of Northern British Columbia on April 17, 2019. Dustin did a fantastic job and made AU very proud! Way to go Dustin!

Supervisor: Dr. Simon Nuttgens
3MT Title: Ethical Tensions in Sex Addiction Counselling